Welcome to NOCMAT2022

The International Conference on Non-conventional Materials and Technologies


will be held virtually in June 2022


Please SUBSCRIBE to our mailing list (upper right) to continue to receive conference announcements

NOCMAT is the international forum for researchers and practitioners who seek to apply non-conventional materials and technologies in the service of providing safe, sustainable, and affordable construction in a manner that respects local customs and promotes ecological harmony


The conference covers applications of nonconventional construction materials and technologies, with the overall objectives of reducing environmental/climate change impact, providing safe affordable construction, and promoting social and commercial acceptability. Specific conference themes will include:

  • Applications of bio-based and natural building materials and composites, including those fabricated from bamboo, hemp, straw and other natural fibres;
  • Earth-based construction and materials including fired and unfired clay, adobe, cob and rammed earth;
  • Other non-conventional materials which may include vernacular materials, materials recovered from the waste stream and innovative materials such as mycelium;
  • Delivery of appropriate technological solutions for the construction industry focusing on non-conventional materials and technologies;
  • Socio-technical dimensions, such as social acceptance, circular-economic models, community engagement, and promotion of diversity, equity, and inclusion; and
  • Educational and curricular approaches and initiatives.

Special Sessions. The conference organizers invite proposals for special sessions that attend to these themes and related topics. Please direct such proposals to the conference organizers at NOCMAT2022@maestromeetings.org. Based on recent feedback, a special session is expected to be organized around Educational and Curricular Approaches and Initiatives.


Abstracts are currently being accepted until December 1, 2021.  Please submit abstracts through the EasyChair link, which includes instructions: https://easychair.org/cfp/NOCMAT2022.

Full articles will also be submitted at the same EasyChair address.


1 September 2021        Call for Papers

15 February 2022        Abstract Submission

15 February 2022           Notice of Acceptance of Abstract and Live Presentation

1 March 2022                Initial Paper Submission

1 April 2022                   Peer Reviews returned to authors

1 May 2022                   Final Paper Submission – all authors must be registered by this date

1 June 2022                  Last date to register for conference

All accepted authors are expected to register. Authors not registered by 1 May 2021 will lose their presentation slot and not have their paper appear in the proceedings.



Due to continued uncertainty surrounding COVID – especially as it impacts our global NOCMAT community – the organisers of NOCMAT 2022 have taken the decision to make NOCMAT 2022 and entirely virtual meeting.  Nevertheless, in order to provide an engaging conference experience, the conference will have ‘live’ presentations that will enable participants to present their work to a live audience, receive important feedback from their colleagues, and to network.

The conference format will provide 18 hours of live presentations (over multiple tracks) spread over three weeks. These meetings will be hosted on the Maestro Meetings platform and facilitated using the Zoom. All presentations, as well as conference introductions and administration, will be recorded to allow those unable to attend ‘live’ to view these. The tentative schedule at this time is as follows:

7 June 2022 9 June 2022 14 June 2022 16 June 2022 21 June 2022 23 June 2022
EDT (New York) 0900-1200h 2000-2300h 0900-1200h 2000-2300h 0900-1200 2000-2300
UTC 1300-1600h


(10 June)



(17 June)



(24 June)


Registration will open 15 February 2022 at this website.

Registration is required in order to participate. The organizers are estimating that the conference will cost approximately $100 per registrant.  To meet this cost, but recognising the challenges of the global COVID pandemic, the organisers are adopting a “pay-what-you-can” registration model. In order to support participants with economic limitations, it is suggested that those with high incomes contribute more than the baseline, up to $200. The minimum suggested registration fee is $25 .

CONFERENCE CO-CHAIRS: may be reached at NOCMAT2022@maestromeetings.org, or using the 'contact us' link in the menu at the top of the page.

Professor Christopher Papadopoulos, University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez

Professor Kent A. Harries, University of Pittsburgh


Honorary Chair of Scientific Committee and founder of NOCMAT series of conferences

Khosrow Ghavami, Professor Emeritus,  Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio de Janeiro (PUC-Rio)

Felipe J. Acosta University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez Puerto Rico
José Barroso Aguiar University of Minho Portugal
Marie-Ange Arsene Université des Antilles French West Indies
Normando Perazzo Barbosa Universidade Federal da Paraiba Brazil
Lola Ben Alon Columbia University USA
Ulisses Targino Bezerra Instituto Federal de Educacao, Ciencia e Technologia - Paraiba Brazil
Daniel Mauricio Chacon University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez Puerto Rico
Ernesto Villar Cociña Central University of las Villas Cuba
Juan F. Correal Universidad de Los Andes Colombia
Hanan ElNouhy Housing and Building National Research Center Egypt
Beatriz Garzón FAU UNT - CONICET Argentina
Guillaume Habert ETH Zurich Switzerland
Said Kenai University Blida1 Algeria
A. Manzano-Ramirez CINVESTAV, QUERETARO Mexico
Dan Maskell University of Bath United Kingdom
Luisa Molari Università di Bologna Spain
José María Monzó Universitat Politécnica de Valencia Spain
Ayman Mossallam University of California, Irvine USA
Ian Nettleship University of Pittsburgh USA
Esther Obonyo The Pennsylvania State University USA
Pierre Ohayon Federal University of Rio de Janeiro Brazil
Germana Rocha Federal University of Paraiba Brazil
Holmer Savastano Junior University of São Paulo Brazil
Bhavna Sharma University of Southern California USA
O. Marcelo Suarez University of Puerto Rico - Mayagüez Puerto Rico
David Trujillo Coventry University United Kingdom
Humberto Varum University of Porto Portugal
Pete Walker University of Bath United Kingdom
Jianzhuang Xiao Tongji University China

Nominations for consideration of Scientific Committee membership may be sent to the conference chairs.